Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter


Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Known as "the father of contemporary liturgical music," Ray Repp has composed and recorded 11 collections of songs, some of which have been translated into as many as 28 languages. His popular Mass for Young Americans, released in 1965, was one of the first settings arranged for guitar accompaniment, and one of the first to apply folk-music styles. Described as "catchy not churchy," his music - both early and more recent - has always reflected his concern for peace and social justice issues.

This two-volume compilation includes the best and most popular music by this legendary composer, offering listeners the opportunity to experience the roots of contemporary liturgical music in the U.S. Ecumenical and universal in tone, these are songs that have been embraced and sung in both Protestant and Catholic communities for more than 30 years. Drawn from the original historic recordings, they are available on CD for the first time.

Reflecting the folk styles and consciousness of the era in which they were composed, Ray's songs make an infectious appeal for brotherly love and charity. Many songs, like the tender and meditative "Come, Let's Build" and "Follow Me," feature Ray's fine tenor voice, with its warm vibrato, accompanied simply by acoustic guitar. Others, like the classic "Allelu!," feature larger ensembles and beautifully arranged solo and accompaniment parts for strings, flute, oboe, banjo, harmonica, percussion and vocals. These are the songs that, when first introduced, had assemblies and youth gatherings on their feet, standing, clapping and singing along.

In a world still broken and divided by injustice and war, the music of Ray Repp is timely and comforting, expressing the longing and hope Christians everywhere have for unity, peace and the establishment of God's kingdom on earth.

Volume 1 includes songs from four previously released collections:Mass for Young AmericansAllelu!Come Alive, and Sing Praise!

Volume 2 includes songs from five previous collections: Sunrise, in the Dead of WinterBenedicamus: The Song of the EarthHear the Cryin'Give Us Peace; and By Love Are We All Bound.

List of Songs:

  1. Alleluia/The Lord of Love Has Come
  2. And There Will Shine
  3. Benedicamus
  4. Blessed Is the Name of Love
  5. Canon of the Seed
  6. Come, Holy Spirit
  7. Come, Let's Build
  8. Dona Nobis Pacem
  9. Follow Me
  10. I Am the Light
  11. Love Is Colored Like a Rainbow
  12. May We Grow
  13. No Greater Love - John 15
  14. Share a Little Bit of Your Love
  15. Sisters and Brothers
  16. Till You
  17. Tomorrow's Sunshine
  18. We Are the Family

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the THE BEST OF RAY REPP VOL. II by Ray Repp to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...