Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter

GREGORIAN CHANT: REQUIEM by Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael's Abbey

Calculated at checkout

Product Description




This is the third Gregorian chant album by the Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael's Abbey in California. This is not an actual Mass, but the traditional Requiem music according to the ancient Norbertine Rite, a form of the liturgy similar to the ubiquitous Roman Rite but the exclusive property of the Norbertine Fathers.

The old cliche of a novel beginning with the words: "It was a dark and stormy night..." could well apply to the recording of this album, as the date that worked for all the singers to record was the day of one of the longest and most violent tempests of 2010. The abbey's cantor, Fr. Chrysostom Baer, decided that, far from detracting from the quality of the recording, the howling winds actually added to the haunting tones of chant. This is the reason for the atmospheric effects heard in the background of many of the recorded tracks.

Track List:

1. Rain and Bells
2. Requiem
3. Kyrie Eleison
4. Requiem
5. Si Ambulem
6. Dies Irae
7. De Profundis
8. Domine Jesu Christe
9. Preface
10. Sanctus
11. Agnus Dei
12. Lux Aeterna; Requiescant
13. Subvenite
14. Suscipiat vos Christus
15. Chorus Angelorum


Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the GREGORIAN CHANT: REQUIEM by Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael's Abbey to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...